Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In the last post, I talked about new endeavors, new beginnings, and generally: new things. Today, I have something to tell you that is so brand-spanking new, it is slick with just-been-born freshness. So new, in fact, these poems and illustrations are still in pre-order mode!

The cover!

The cover!

My book, A Personal History of the Lost & Found, is coming to life, and I couldn’t be more excited. The idea was birthed over a year ago, and it evolved into something that I’m pretty happy with. The process ebbed and flowed; at times, I thought about just letting the whole thing lie. By lie, I mean die. I hoped it would crawl off into the cracks of time and die a quiet death of imaginary creatures ignored by their creators.

The poems came first, and then the illustrations. Oh God. The illustrations. I think I probably did a total of fifty (I kid you not) illustrations/gesture sketches for this; but then, I would decide this one doesn’t fit, and this one plain sucks, and this one should be saved for later. I settled on a handful of illustrations that show a range of styles, and it certainly shows my evolution in process and skill.

Eventually, I developed a practice, and I came to the page nearly every day. As excited as I am to see my book going out into the world (and honestly, nervous, too), I think I’m most grateful that this book has given me the discipline and practice to come to the page with ideas and get them down. I’ve done that before—I mean, that is kind of the entire idea of writing a thesis for a Master’s degree, of course. But this felt more real, and it felt more self-propelled, and it also taught me a lot about working outside of my former genre of choice (fiction), and also about embracing visual medium.

When I thought it was time to let my ideas die, something would happen to steer me back into production. And so it was born, and now it is done, and you can pre-order your copy now.

